If you’re using your friend’s friend’s friend’s Netflix account, we have some bad news for ya!
Netflix is currently testing a new feature that could help it crack down on password sharing.
They’re rolling out alerts asking users to verify they are authorized to watch on the account to keep watching.
According to Netflix’s terms of service, passwords may not be shared with individuals beyond your household.”
“This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so,” a Netflix spokesperson said in a statement.
When a user selects their profile on a shared Netflix account, a pop-up will ask them to verify the account by confirming a text or email sent to the account holder.
Users can also choose to verify later that the pop-up will show up again at an undetermined later time.
If they can’t confirm they’re an authorized user, viewers will be prompted to set up a new account.